Home > I look like a moron > The Rene Bourque Signing

The Rene Bourque Signing

February 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Okay, 2 posts in a day is overkill, but to be fair I’d been writing the last one since Monday and this is one that needs addressing.  The particulars of the contract are 3.3M per year over six years with a modified NTC.

I’ll start off with a collection of links to all the various reactions to the signings, then give my view.

Kent W. at Flamesnation’s reaction (positive view of the signing)

A Z R at Domebeers.com (negative view of the signing)

Yeah, the Saddlesphere is quiet.  I’ll add more as people write them.

My thoughts are much more similar to Kent’s than A Z R’s.  3.3 million is dirt cheap, especially for a player of Bourque’s caliber.  Now, it’s easy to look and say “Oh, he’s never been in the top 100 in scoring til this year, he’s not worth it.”  However, there’s a couple extenuating factors regarding this. 

The numbers: First, last year he spent almost no time on the power play, with his PP TOI/60 coming in at 1.01.  As a way of comparison, Todd Bertuzzi was seeing 3.93/60.  Second, in regards to points/60 minutes, he’s currently first on the team with a more than solid 2.38.  He also has the highest relative CORSI of the Flames at a 7.5.

The rest of the stuff: 3.3M is cheap, and fact is, if you watch him on the ice, he’s clearly our most valuable forward.  He forechecks hard, is rarely out of position, plays big, and has a mean streak.  Anyone remember the Caps at Flames game last season?  If I recall correctly, Tyler Sloan laid out Regehr, and Bourque comes charging in and beats the hell out of Sloan.  Sure, it cost of 21 PIMS, but it was worth it.  It established a “don’t mess with us” feel.  Plus we killed that whole penalty. Bad ass.  Bourque is one player who never looks out-of-place, no matter what he’s doing, whether it’s the power play, even strength play, or penalty kills.

The one comment complaint I’m hearing though, and I would almost agree with, is the six years.  At 30,  players start their decline.  Iggy has been living proof.  Domebeers mentions that if we’re complaining about our captain looking the way he is at his age, won’t we complain about Bourque too?  I would, if he was making $4M or more.  But the way I see it, we’re paying more for him when he’s less effective because of age so that we can pay less now.  And taking into account that the salary cap will go up, I’m okay with it.

The other reason it’s alright is that at $3.3M it’s clear the Flames don’t expect him to be a superstar, or Iggy’s replacement.  He’s a difference maker, and a great one at that, but he’s not expected to produce 70 points or more. 

Of course, much of my Bourque love stems from him being a former Badger.

Categories: I look like a moron
  1. February 28, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    good post. My hatred for this contract comes from unstated things.

    Its not Bourques money thats the problem per se, its Sarich, Hagman, Kotalik, Langkow… Thats 3.3, 3.6, 3, 3, 4.5. Or 17.4 outta 56 who arent exactly world beaters. Add in JBlow, Kipper, and Iggy, and thats 37 million, which leaves you 19 million for 15 players. Its not terrible, but you dont have room to go out and get a superstar now.

    Plus, I can see this guy wrecking the shoulder in year 2 of the contract and it having to be eaten for the next 4 years. Thats my main concern.

    • Arik
      February 28, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      I’ll agree with you there (though I’d argue Hagman as an exception, at 3.6 he’s an alright deal). Sarich, Kotalik, and Langkow are going to be killlling us these next few years. Langkow is the only one who I can see actually contributing, and he’s not worth the 4.5M by any means.

      Anyways, my point is, there’s a lot reasons to hate Sutter these days, but the Bourque contract in and of itself isn’t one of them. It just comes at a horrible time. Also, I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who wishes we’d traded for Kovalchuk.

      As far as injuries go, it seems like he’s just accident prone more than anything else. Thank god he doesn’t have a Briere groin or a Forsberg foot. And yes, I just knocked the fuck out of my wooden desk with my fist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

