Home > Guest blog partay!, Resurrecting The Past > Regarding This Year

Regarding This Year

Arik, like he said below, has sent out some questions to Flames bloggers about this season so far. So as a tease of things to come, I will post my answers.

1.) Starting with the draft last year, and given what we knew at the time, would you have traded for Bouwmeester’s rights and signed him?

Yes. JBo has been paired with less-then-stellar d-men ever since he stepped on the ice. Gio is the only good d-man that can play with him while enabling the Flames to keep semi-competent pairs. (3-28, 5-4, 6-7.) The offensive side of the puck isn’t as much of an issue to me then to others simply because the players who are supposed to score are the forwards. If Bouwmeester can make that good first pass out of the zone, or a tactical dump in, and if either of those were lead to chances, that would be good enough for me.

2.) How would you have drafted? Would you trade down so you could sign Brent Sutter? Or would you stick at the higher position and draft Schroeder?

I would rather had Playfair or whomever and the higher pick. The lack of high-level developing talent is a huge issue for the Flames, and Brent Sutter has made moves that are perplexing, to say the least.

3.) Would you have targeted anyone else in the offseason, or attempted to trade anyone else in the offseason?

All of Daz’s moves during the off-season were good in my books. It’s the one that he didn’t make that pisses me off the most. Why trade for the Sex Panther if you know you want JBo and Cammalleri? Makes no sense to me.

4.) Would you still make the Phaneuf trade? If no, would you trade him for something else? Would you trade him earlier or later or in the season?

Oooh boy. I didn’t want Dion traded, but if any of the “off the ice” stuff was true, he had to go. You can fix on-ice play. You cannot fix a dressing room. Believe me, I’ve had coaches who’ve tried. I would have tried to get more for him-a first liner, first round draft pick, a 3-4 d-men, or a depth (Higgins) player. Any Combination of three of those would have been good. I would also have had no problem throwing in a defensive prospect or a 4th liner.

5.) If the Flames had a 9 game losing streak, what ritual would you perform to regain the favor of the hockey gods?

Slaughter some livestock on the Sutter’s family farm.

6.) Would you have been a buyer or seller at the trade deadline this year (given that the performance up til that point was exactly the same)?

If I had the team from January 30th, I would have done two things: a back-up and depth player like Higgins, so ostensibly I would have been a buyer. But that’s not what is being asked, so I would have tried to get rid of one or more of Kotalik, Boyd, Moss, Dawes, Johnson, Pardy and McBackup if I could get someone to play on the top line or a backup and a 3rd minutes d-man to even out the blueline. So I guess I would have been a buyer either way.

7.) What is the best sort of puppy?

Bichon Shih Tzu.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

