Home > Dumb People, I look like a moron, It is raining in my heart > A Depressing Outlook and Mailbag

A Depressing Outlook and Mailbag

The Calgary Flames’ season has the potential to end tonight. Maybe not officially, but as I write this, they sit 4 points back of the Detroit Red Wings for 8th, 6 behind the Avs for 7th, and 4 up on the Blues for 9th. Those are all large gaps, given that they make up 25% of the Flames’ available points at the moment. The Flames need to keep the Wings (or Avs, depending on the next couple games) within one game, even if Detroit has an extra to play with points wise.  Lose tonight, and there is a good chance Detroit goes 5 or 6 points up with 9 games left. That is a near-impossible gap to make up, especially considering the injuries that the Flames have encountered over the past 3 games.

Glencross, a Corsi machine and premier penalty killer, Langkow, a possession driving #1 center (no matter what his point totals, he is still the #1 center-at least in my view) and Higgins, who has been the best player the Flames have had since the mid-season nuking of the team. Understand I am not blaming injuries if Sutter’s group does not make it in, but rather showing what the Flames will have to overcome if they want to make it in to the playoffs. I don’t think I’d have much argument if I said that these 3 guys have been top-5, at least quality wise, on the team this year, and there may not be any debate at all if you were just to count since the blowup. I am trying to say that a significant amount of quality now sits in the press box, and if the Flames are to make the post season, there are two players that may have to make it happen by themselves-and I don’t think I have to tell you who.

* * *

I got three questions in the Mailbag this week, which is 3 more then I expected. (You can send questions, comments, and hate mail to justin.azevedo20(at)gmail.com.) The first, hockey-related, from Rod Blogojevich:

What do you think Kevin Weekes would say if Brent Sutter put Nigel Dawes, Jamal Mayers and Jarome Iginla on the same line?

Kevin would talk about racial equality and how the line shows progress in the way of equal rights. Then someone would tell him it isn’t the 1960’s anymore and realize that Jamal Mayers’ eyebrows, Nigel Dawes’ handlebars, and Iggy’s soft hands could combine with those sick pads he had from the NJ days and form a player unlike any the league had ever seen. He would then call it Blacktron. And all those thoughts would be processed in a manner of nanoseconds, which then tells us why he says such stupid shit in the booth-it’s because he’s thinking of things much more important to mankind.

The second question comes from my buddy Mark B.:

So we all know Sutter is a dumbfuck. What would you grade his performance as this year?

It all depends what Sutter you are talking about. Brent? “C-“, because somehow the team hasn’t completely fallen out of it. Darryl? “E” for effort, because a “D” implies competence. (I guess you can’t fail him since he was able to trade for Higgins and White and resign Bork). Duane gets a “B”, mostly because I have no fucking idea what the Director of Player Personnel actually does. Finally, Ron Gets a “B+” because anyone the Flames pick at the draft this year will be a fringe NHL’er at best, and that isn’t his fault.

Lastly, a life question from Rod:

I never have any food ideas. I always make the same meals for dinner, and quite frankly I’m getting sick of them. Do you have any meal suggestions?

This is all dependent on how complicated you want to go, if you are trying to impress, etc. So I’ll give you my three favorite fancy dinners:

  1. Grilled Salmon with Lemon and Poppyseed dressing, with Brocoflower and a starch;
  2. Stuffed Pork Roast (you can put pretty much anything in there, and it’s easy to knock a bone out and just use that as the stuffing area.) I like either breadcrumb stuffing, or carrots and potatoes in the middle. The side dish you serve depends on what you chuck in the roast.
  3. Fondue. It’s easy to do, especially when you have a plug-n-go machine. One tip: if you want to do a meat fondue with oil cooking, make sure the fondue pot you have has a meat setting, and all the fat is trimmed from the meat. This eliminates oil spray, but I would have a cover just to be safe.

Also, you can never go wrong with eggs in anything or baked Mac N Cheese. That shit’s delicious.

* * *

I’m going to the game tonight and barring any major disaster, will have pics up tomorrow. For now, I leave you with this to drown your sorrows:

“This is my Happy Face.”

Go Flames Go!

  1. March 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    hurry up with this pic already !!! I’M IMPATIENT !!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

